Glenn T. Troyer Award

 Katie Straight receiving the 2014 Outstanding Risk Manager Award from Glenn Troyer

Outstanding Risk Manager of the Year Award

ISHRM is proud to present the Glenn Troyer Outstanding Risk Manager of the Year Award to a deserving risk management professional.

The following are the criteria the board uses for selection of this honor:

  1. A risk management professional for 5 years working for a healthcare organization (healthcare network, hospital, clinic or physician’s office) or for an organization providing risk management services, such as loss control, claims management, patient safety, compliance, etc. (a consulting firm, insurance agency or law firm) in healthcare.
  2. A member of ISHRM for 5 years (no consecutive year requirement)
  3. A member of the ISHRM Board for 3 years (no consecutive year requirement)
  4. 75% attendance at the ISHRM conferences for at least 3 years
  5. Have presented to groups outside of their healthcare employer’s entities or employee groups. (e. g. ISHRM or ASHRM meetings, other health care organizations, professional societies, trade organizations etc.)

The following are the winners since the inception of the award in 1991.

  • 2014: Katie DuFresne Straight, IU Health Risk Retention Group
  • 2013: Steve Linerode, Community Howard Regional
  • 2012: Crissy Lough, Wishard Hospital, Eskenazi Health
  • 2011: David Stach, Parkview Health
  • 2010: Michele Calderon Johns, IU Health Risk Retention Group
  • 2009: Trudy Hill, Community Health Network
  • 2008: Cathy Treen, Clarian Risk Retention Group
  • 2007: David Petrous, Hendricks Regional Health
  • 2006: Mary Feldhake, Locke Reynolds, LLP
  • 2005: Candace Isom, Bloomington Hospital of Orange County
  • 2004: Kathleen Roman, Medical Protective
  • 2003: Linda Owen, Marion General Hospital
  • 2002: Mike Salazar, Gregory and Appel Insurance
  • 2001: Lisa Sorensen, St. Vincent Heart Center
  • 2000: Dan Conner, Cassady Neeser and Brasseur
  • 1999: Jim Easton
  • 1998: Steve Sarsfield, Holy Cross Resources
  • 1997: Phyllis (Garth) Newman
  • 1996: Jydia Elmore Glusko
  • 1995: Doug Gioe, St. Francis Healthcare
  • 1994: Judy Davis
  • 1993: Barb Killila
  • 1992: Susan May, American Health Network
  • 1991: Glenn Troyer